Esperance Junior Fire Brigade holds its annual awards

The Esperance Junior Fire Brigade celebrated a standout championship season at its annual awards night on December 8.

The awards were held at the Esperance co-location centre with both junior and senior brigade members celebrating the brigade's achievements.

The ceremony followed a weekend of spirited competition at the Junior Fire Brigade Championships in Fremantle from November 30 to December 1.

Between the 40 teams vying for victory in the intense final competition, five state records were broken with Esperance taking two historic high scores.

Following a season filled with multiple champion junior fireman wins, the Harry Kerr medal and the McGillivray shield for the best performing junior firefighter went to Aden Close.

The Harry Kerr medal and the Karger Shield for the best performing sub junior firefighter was awarded to Natalie Ferguson.

The brigades acknowledged that the McGillivray and Karger Shields have been sponsored by those families since 1998 when the brigade was formed and thanked the families for their ongoing support

The Jackson Rose memorial Award was presented to Jacob Willoughby. Reggie Stacey secured the Jayde Johnson memorial award. Coaches Harry Moir and Brian Willoughby praised the team members for their success during the year.