Esperance Motor Cycle Club reveals local winners and announces exciting news

The Esperance Motor Cycle Club has celebrated the end of a successful season, with exciting news announced for next year.

The club held its windup on October 26, with winning riders in each division revealed. Points were accumulated across eight rounds.

The Robert Austin Trophy went to Ryan O'Neill, the 85CC Shield was awarded to Alec Watkins, the Open Shield went to Dylan Thomas and Tim Hawkey scored the Club Person Shield.

Seven-year-old Noah Thomas placed first in the 50CC. Declan Hayward-McKean won the 65CC.

Zane Garraway scored first place in the 85CC for under 12-year-old riders and Alec Watkins was first in the 85CC for over 12 riders.

In the 125CC to 250CC, Rhal Selway came first.

In the Amateurs competition, Ryan Butler finished in first place and the Veterans contest saw Adam McVilley earn top prize.

Brechin Hawkey won the Pro-Lites and the Pro-Open was notched by Dylan Thomas.

Club publicity officer Tania Garraway said the season had seen strong turnout from both competitive racers and non-competitive riders who came down to the club for fun.

The club has announced it was successful in its application to host a state round next year. Esperance will kick off the 2020 WA Motor Cross State Championship, holding Round 1 on the Easter long weekend. Junior riders will face off on Saturday, April 11 and seniors will race the next day.

The news is a major coup for the club as well as for the town in general, with about 500 riders expected to compete. Support crew and spectators are also set to arrive in Esperance for the weekend of racing.

The club has thanked its sponsors, Track Transport, McD Contracting, Powerplant Motorcycles, Barbeques Galore Esperance, O'Neill Motors, Full Throttle, Kip and Steve's Mechanical Repairs, Farm and General, South East Petroleum, South Coast Food Services, Staines, Esperance Smash Repairs, Top Signs, Wicked Welding and Triple M Esperance, for their support this season.