Draw for ballot paper as nominations close


The draw to determine the order in which the names of the 14 candidates appear on this year's ballot paper took place yesterday, September 12, as nominations officially closed for the 2019 local government election.

The draw was conducted in the council chambers by Shire of Esperance returning officer Brian Willoughby.

Kevin Neale, Colin Stewart, Jo-Anne O'Donnell, Ron Padgurskis, Richard Grant, Brian Pearce, Jennifer Obourne, Ron Chambers, Nils Blumann and Barry Wroth will be vying for one of the three seats up for grabs in the Town Ward.

There are four candidates hoping to fill one of the two positions vacant for the Rural Ward, including Ian Mickel, Natalie Bowman, Wes Graham and Paul Griffiths.

It is understood that election packages will be sent to all electors next Friday, September 20, and can be delivered to the ballot box at the Shire of Esperance Administration Building.

In the 2011 Shire of Esperance local government election, about 47 per cent of those enrolled voted.

It is understood the average turnout for WA in 2011 was 30.9 per cent.

The poll is expected to close at 6pm on Saturday, October 19.

More to come.