Esperance District Football Association holds Hepburn Medals

The best in local football was celebrated at the 2019 Hepburn Medal function on August 11.

Gibson captain Patch Jannings took out the biggest prize of the night, scoring the Hepburn Medal as voted by the umpires.

Mr Jannings was the runner up in the previous two years and won by only a single vote over Esperance's Sam Franzone.

The Women's Football Best and Fairest went to Esperance's Kayesan Cox.

Aogan McCallion was awarded the Freddy Curnow Footballer of the Year Award, as voted by the club presidents.

Travis Stewart won the Paddy Rule Leading Goal Kicker Award, while Gibson's Matthew Horley won the Frank Murray Medal for the Reserve's Best and Fairest.

Young Newtown-Condingup player Jevan Tholstrup swept up the categories for younger players.

Mr Tholstrup took home numerous trophies including for the Colts Best and Fairest, the Tom Quinlivan Great Southern Carnival Best on Ground and Subiaco Rookie of the Year. Umpire of the Year went to Ashley Weckert.

The night got off to a humorous start thanks to MC Kris Starcevich and featured guest speakers including WA Country Football League president John Shadbolt and Shire president Victoria Brown.

Esperance District Football Association president Murray Scheer said the vote count was very close in the A Grade, demonstrating the high level of skill shown this season.

It has been 60 years since the association recognised its fairest and best. In recognition, the inaugural winner, John Dale, presented this year's Hepburn Medal.