Esperance Football, Hepburn Medals 2018

Local football stars, association figures and passionate fans gathered for the 2018 Hepburn Medals on Sunday, August 12.

The Esperance District Football Association event was held at the Esperance Turf Club. 

Many were honoured for their past and current service to the game, but one name stood out.

Twenty-two year-old Brendon White swept the big three titles, winning the Hepburn Medal, the Freddy Curnow Footballer of the Year Award and the Paddy Rule Leading Goal Scorer. 

Mr White has been a stand-out player for the Esperance Bulldogs throughout the 2018 season. 

Gibson Tigers captain Patch Jannings was the Hepburn Medalist runner-up for the second consecutive year. 

Reserves Fairest and Best 2018 was awarded to Corey Bennier.

Matt Rogers notched the Subiaco Football Club Rookie of the Year Award, with Colts Best and Fairest awarded to Rhys Wood.

Toby Mesec won the Tom Quinlivan Fairest and Best Medal for the Great Southern Carnival, while Zac Murray won the Aussie Ainsworth Shield. 

Ricky O’Neill was awarded Umpire of the Year. 

Dennis Judd was given Esperance District Football Association life membership.