Biennial Art Award winners announced

More than 400 voters have chosen Sheryl Waideman’s piece ‘Days Go By’ for the People’s Choice Award in this year’s Biennial Arts Awards.

The multimedia sculpture sculpted a jetty scene that event organisers said clearly resonated with the Esperance community.

The exhibition was held from April 13 until May 12 and saw almost 1,000 people walk through the doors of the Cannery Arts Centre in support of local artists.

Since 1969, the Awards have been an opportunity for the region’s established and emerging artists to showcase their work and vie for $7,500 worth of prize money over 11 different categories.

The Biennial Art Award winners were chosen by ArtGeo Busselton complex coordinator Dr Diana McGirr.

Sharnice Munmurrie’s ‘Two Sisters’ took out the Indigenous Youth Art Award, with Manaia Matchitt’s ‘Fluffy Towels’ winning the Youth Art Award.

The Indigenous Adult Art Award was won by Valma Schultz for her piece ‘Seal Dreaming’.

This year’s Print Award was taken out by Marcia Leonard for ‘2ndPlace (Gyotaku)’ and Mitsuko Rolland’s ‘Uninhabited’ was decided as the Ceramics Award

Naomi Stantiski won The Mina Crisp Award for her work ‘Banksia speciosa’, the Sculpture Award was won by Elaine Fewings’ ‘Shoes For News’ and the Marine Award was won by Jason Wooldridge’s ‘Leviathon’.

This year’s The Human Body Award was taken out by Karen McClurkin for ‘Dreams of Reason’ and the Shire of Esperance Award of Excellence Award was won by Tammy Andrews’ ‘Integrity. Complexity - Edward John Eyre’. 

This year’s Awards included submissions from artists across the region, from Esperance, Kalgoorlie, Balladonia, and Ravensthorpe.

For more information and upcoming events, visit