Resilient Australia Award submissions open now

The state government is calling on Esperance community groups to nominate for the 2018 Resilient Australia Award.

The awards have celebrated initiatives that made their communities safer, more connected and more prepared for disasters since 2000.

Emergency Services minister Fran Logan said he hoped WA would win for the second year in a row.

“Western Australia took out the top honours last year and if successful again, it would be a ringing endorsement of the great work that many of our State’s organisations and individuals undertake to be prepared for natural hazards and emergencies,” he said.

“We face an ever-drying climate which brings a much greater risk of potentially catastrophic bushfires, and all members of the community must play their part to be ready for such natural disasters.

“Floods are increasingly impacting our communities, and an increased population and further industrialisation also brings its own risks.

“Good luck to all of those making an awards submission.”

Submissions close at 3pm on May 31, 2018.

To make a submission click here.

To find out more about the awards click here or here