Esperance Toyota Shield round eight

Out: Esperance opener Cam Irvin (47) losing his off stump to Coastal Warriors captain Jeremy Curry. Coastal's Jon-Paul Adams looks on. Photo: supplied.
Out: Esperance opener Cam Irvin (47) losing his off stump to Coastal Warriors captain Jeremy Curry. Coastal's Jon-Paul Adams looks on. Photo: supplied.

ROUND eight of the Esperance Toyota Shield saw Coastal Warriors claim victory over Esperance off the second last ball of the day, while Newtown had a five-wicket win over Ports.

Playing at home and batting first, Ports relied heavily on the experience and skill of their veteran batsman to compile 9 for 166 off their 50 overs. Christopher Ross (25), big hitting Brett Keevil (53), the talented Steven Hill (35no) and the return of Joash Johnson (16) all contributed well and if not for the pace and talent of Newtown duo Jacob deBeer (3/22) and Jacob Vickers (3/32), Ports’ total probably could have been more. After losing both openers with the score at 9 it took a 59-run partnership between Scott McArthur (14) and captain Daniel Styles (61) to get the Newtown innings back on track. After losing McArthur at 62, Styles built a 81-run partnership with Jacob deBeer (42) before losing his own wicket with the score at 143; deBeer, Zack Liddelow (5no) and Rheece Griffiths (21no) finally saw Newtown over the line in the 39th over to claim a five-wicket win. Port captain Thomas Edwards (2/25) and Leigh Westcott (2/49) were the only bowlers to take wickets.

The match of the round saw Esperance playing at home and sent into bat first after Coastals won the toss. Losing the explosive Sarfraz Niaz (8) with the score at 13 it was down to keeper Thomas Callow (21) and the in-form Cammy Irvin (47) to put Esperance back in line for a total. The loss of Callow at 67 only brought the dangerous Brendon White (44) to the crease, putting together a 81-run partnership before Irvin lost his wicket with the score at 148. White tried to push the ante with the help of the talented Matt Harding (32no) but lost his wicket at 152. Harding was able to see out the remaining overs to see Esperance all out for 207. Cameron Horley (2/7) and Jeremy Curry (2/35) claimed bowling honours for Coastal Warriors. With a 200 plus total to chase Coastals had a task ahead of them. Down two wickets early for just 27 on the board, Adam Edwards (46) and Jon-Paul Adams (51) set about correcting things with a 88-run partnership. Losing Edwards at 115 and then Adams at 146 Esperance looked to be right back in the game, but mini partnerships, first with captain Jeremy Curry (26), then Troy Edwards (20) and Coastal veteran Brendon Tyrrell (20no), paid way for Coastals to win by three wickets off the second last ball of the day. Brendon White (2/28) and Maxy Bracken (2/36) claimed bowling honours for Esperance.

The Landmark Shield saw Esperance claim a 44-run victory over Cascade at Cascade oval, while Coastal Warriors forfeited to Ports. Making the trip out to Cascade Esperance won the toss and batted first. Captain Sydney Jones (13) was first to lose his wicket with the score at 28. Fellow opener Leon Henderson (23) pushed on losing his wicket with the score at 3 for 73. Although the Cascade bowlers had Esperance 5 for 113 it was the partnership of 89 between Nick Parkanyi (51) and David Callow (66rh) that got the score out to 202, before Parkanyi finally lost his wicket in the 42nd over. Following soon afterwards, Callow broke down and had to retire hurt. At the end of 45 overs Esperance were able to finish out their innings at 7 for 223; Cascade captain Nigel Bingham (4/58) claiming bowling honours. Although losing opener Mark Walter (16) early, the partnership of 77 between Brodie Wickstein (24) and Nigel Bingham (58) set the Cascade innings on track. Losing Wickstein at 103 Bingham again had to start afresh with Zack Wickstein (16) before losing his wicket at 125. Zack soon followed at 4 for 139 and it was from here that the Esperance bowlers gained the upper hand finally bowling Cascade out for 179 in the 42nd over. Nick Parkanyi (4/12) and Sydney Jones (2/40) claimed bowling honours.