Ravensthorpe Police Station finalists for this year's Police Excellence Awards

Ravensthorpe Police Station have been announced as finalists for this year’s state Police Excellence Awards, after receiving 15 community nominations.

The three officer station were nominated for their response to the floods in February, after Ravensthorpe was cut off from all nearby towns and running low on food supplies and fuel. 

As well as providing emergency management and support on top of their daily duties, the trio were nominated for their active involvement in the community and the reduction in crime.

Ravensthorpe Police Station Sergeant Jamie Paterson said the team worked an 80-hour week during the first week of the floods, after the town was completely cut-off.

“During three days in February 2017, we received 300 millimetres rainfall, creating the largest flood in the Shire’s recorded history,” he said.

“Food ran out of the supermarket for a few days and we had our own families in town to look after.”

Sgt Paterson said the team took on the role of Local Emergency Coordinator and Land Search Controller, volunteering with the land search for a missing male.

The flood resulted in one fatality and 80 million dollars worth of damage to highways, bridges, the Shire’s roads and farms, including the Phillips River bridge.

Sgt Paterson said when he arrived almost three years ago, the community’s primary concerns were drugs and antisocial behaviour.

“Ravensthorpe is relatively crime-free compared to larger towns but, because this was the community perception, it has always be our primary focus,” he said.

“The yearly averages over the last three years, compared to the three years preceding, reveal crime has decreased by about one-third, and drug apprehensions increased 300 per cent.”

A total of 153 nominations were received this year across both categories, with 60 individual officers and 25 police teams nominated.

The awards will be judged by a panel of senior police and sponsor representatives and announced December 7.

The category winners will receive $5000 prize, with the two finalists each receiving a $1000 prize.