Gibson Netball Club claim 2017 Esperance Netball Association Division one premiership

Gibson Netball Club's division one team have triumphed in the Esperance Netball Association's 2017 grand final. 

The team took out the title in a nail-biting showdown against Newtown. 

The game was a tight tussle from the outset, with each team goal for goal. 

The vibe in the Esperance Indoor Stadium was intense, with passionate supporters filling the grandstand and sideline.

Crowds weren’t disappointed as players from both teams contested every ball and displayed strong passages of play through out the game. 

Midway through the last quarter Gibson gained a two point lead on Newtown. 

Despite the small margin Newtown couldn’t come back and went down 42 to 38. 

Sharelle Walter and Sara Bonnet umpired the game. 

This is the second year in a row Gibson has taken out the premiership and that Newtown has ended as runners up. 

Visit the later this week for more action shots from the day!

Grand Final Results

GJ Gardner Homes Division 1: 

Gibson 1 defeated Newtown 1, 38 to 42 at 4:30pm on court one.

Most valuable player went to Gibson’s Rebecca Smith.

Beeline Florist Division 2: 

Surfers 2 defeated Rookies 2, 40 to 35 at 1.30pm on court one.  

Most valuable player went to Rookies’ Casey Rowe. 

Smartline Division 3: 

Gibson 3 defeated Gibson 4, 44 to 37 at 3pm on court one. 

Most valuable player went to Gibson 3’s Liesel Adams.

Esperance Plumbing Division 4: 

United 4 defeated Surfers 4, 46 to 41 at 1.30pm on court two. 

Most valuable player went to United’s Hannah Turner. 

Dempster Sporting Division 5: 

ENA Stars defeated Surfers 5, 33 to 26 at 3pm on court two. 

Most valuable player went to Surfer’s Rosie Dempster.