Esperance dominates round two of the series

Winners are grinners with Paul Eather, Jonno Robinson and Jay Bogdan finishing first second and third in the shortcourse truck class.
Winners are grinners with Paul Eather, Jonno Robinson and Jay Bogdan finishing first second and third in the shortcourse truck class.

THE Saltwater vs Red Dirt interclub series 2017 is in the books now and round two in Esperance on Saturday provided some great racing on a super tacky track after plenty of rain in the lead up.

The local shortcourse truck class saw Paul Eather continue his good form to take TQ and the final victory from Jonno Robinson in his return drive after a long break with a good drive for second, the podium was rounded off by Jay Bogdan third.

In the buggy class some fast times were laid down during qualifying in the grippy conditions, with Kane Holt making the most of a new car to grab TQ.

Esperance's Aaron Rhodes dominated the buggy B finals with newfound speed running a fresh car, Chris Wells kept him honest at times in second and third went to the big air king Bill Hartley bringing in a trio of Goldfields drivers in father/daughter Kev and Mel Anderson in fourth and fifth respectively, JD Champion rounded out the class in sixth.

The buggy A finals saw some good scrapping between the Esperance and Goldfields drivers with some epic battles but in the end the locals prevailed filling the home round podium with Kane Holt taking the win from the hard charger Pat MacAleese second and young Cody Mack third with another mature drive beyond his years, Goldfields club President Craig Turbett in fourth lead the charge for the Kalgoorlie crew with Ash Pike in fifth. Congrats also to Pat Malone sixth and Ewan Mack seventh making the A final.

The Saltwater vs Red Dirt series overall went to Kane Holt, Pat MacAleese second and Cody Mack third to complete a series podium clean sweep for Esperance.

And for the club vs club total points grudge match the EBRCCC managed to take it again over the GRCMCC. 

Thanks to Col Anderson for creating the awesome perpetual shield for the  event and all our club sponsors and volunteers , Matt Green of Moo to Chew butchering for sponsoring great snags and steak again, Coates Hire for the lights, Pat MacAleese for running the timing gear beautifully all meeting and Tiff Hopkinson doing a huge job with Lissa Mack feeding everyone, and the Kalgoorlie guys and girls for making the trip down to support the series!

2017 Saltwater vs Red Dirt series overall standings: 

1st Kane Holt; 

2nd Pat MacAleese; 

3rd Cody Mack; 

4th Ewan Mack; 

5th Bill Hartley; 

6th Kev Anderson; 

7th Mel Anderson; 

8th Rob Thomas; 

9th Craig Turbett; 

10th Jesse Walters; 

11th Ashley Pike; 

12th Pat Malone; 

13th Daniel Kent; 

14th Tyrone Dark; 

15th Aaron Rhodes; 

16th Chris Wells; 

17th Ben McConachie; 

18th JD Champion.