2017 State Election: South West upper house members confirmed

Two weeks after the WA state election, the Western Australian Electoral Commission have confirmed the six South West Upper House members. 

Incumbent WA Labor MLC Dr Sally Talbot held the first spot on her party’s ticket and with the strong swing away from the right wing she claimed the first South West legislative council seat. Ms Talbot, 64, has been in office since 2005.  

Number one on the WA Liberal ticket, Dr Steve Thomas returns to parliament house after he was elected as the second member. A former veterinarian, Dr Thomas was the lower house member for Capel between 2005 and 2008. 

Incumbent MLC Adele Farina was returned for a fifth term in the upper house with WA Labor securing a strong swing of votes. Ms Farina, 52, has been a member of parliament since 2001. 

One Nation return to the WA legislative council chambers with Colin Tincknell elected fourth in the South West region. Mr Tincknell is a father of four and the current WA president for Pauline Hanson’s One Nation.

Incumbent MLC Colin Holt finished fifth in the vote to secure a third term in the chamber as a member of The Nationals WA. Mr Holt, 53, was first elected in 2009 and has previously held the Racing and Gaming and Housing portfolios.  

The final spot in the upper house for the South West was given to WA Greens candidate Diane Evers. Mrs Evers, becomes the first Greens member for the South West since Paul Llewellyn held office between 2005 and 2009. 

In total 199,499 votes were counted in the South West region. 

This story Six South West upper house winners confirmed first appeared on Bunbury Mail.